What not to do when making Meringues

As most of you realize by now, I’m taking a cooking class. Just as the title says, I’m making meringues. Or at least trying to.

The recipe I’m using is a pretty simple one that comes from the McCormick website. http://www.mccormick.com/Recipes/Dessert/Colorful-Meringue-Cookies Now, my class just finished up a unit on food safety. So…. what’s wrong with this picture?

DSCN0882

You want foreign-object contamination? Because that’s how you get foreign object contamination.

If you guessed something about the hair… you’d be correct. In my rush to finish my school project I forgot to use a hair net. After getting my hair up, we went on to the next part of the project.

Mixing. Chef tip: There’s a fine line between ‘stiff peaks of meringue’ and ‘bath tile grout’. It seems my Mom’s mixer has three settings: Barely moving, Medium, and ‘about to clobber passersby with frosting chunks’.

Resist the temptation to eat. Salmonella isn't delicious, and most of the time it has nothing to do with salmon.

Resist the temptation to eat. Salmonella isn’t delicious, and most of the time it has nothing to do with salmon.

After the initial mixing, I decided to add food coloring and fun flavors, but after my ‘deep burgundy’ ended up more like ‘Sunburned in Miami’ I decided to keep it simple and stick with pastels.

The cook time is about 45 minutes, but you have to let them sit in an hour so that they cool down. If the cookie is hot enough to cook the egg mixed in it, it’s hot enough to cook your tongue.

You didn't believe me about the

You didn’t believe me about the “pink” color. did you?

Meringues are one of those rare foods that should never, ever, ever in the name of all good things in this beautiful world be made from chocolate. Why’s that? Well, just take a gander at those glistening, shining piles before they go in the oven. Now imagine them a dark brown. Appetizing, no?

Cue high-res, yellowish picture of the finished product.

Cue high-res, yellowish picture of the finished product.

All in all, they tasted pretty darn good. Nothing caught fire this time so I’d say this lesson was a success!

2 thoughts on “What not to do when making Meringues

Leave a Reply

