Maggie versus Pan Fried Chicken

It’s that time again, folks! Time for the iron-kitchen smackdown that is my homework. This time, I’ll be making pan fried chicken. A simple, somewhat healthier alternative to the deep fried stuff.

I'm not spice savvy... I'm spice PSYCHO!

I’m not spice savvy… I’m spice PSYCHO!

So, simple enough. You need chicken of course, I used about five drumsticks and five thighs, and flour. I recommend starting with about 2 cups of flour and add to that if you don’t know if it’ll be enough. Oil to cook it in is useful, too. I don’t really recommend canola oil or anything other than olive oil because olive oil is A) better for you B) tastes better and C) has a relatively high flash point so you’re likely to spontaneously combust.Chef tip: Never attempt to put out a grease fire with a cup of water, your eyebrows will never grown back. TRUST ME.

At this point, you have the basics. Add whatever spices you like to the flour  mix before you roll the chicken in it. I’m nuts for spices and anything spicy, so I used chili powder, garlic, onion, black pepper, salt, and paprika. You can pretty much do whatever spices you like, but if you add too much then you may get some complaints from your siblings, if you have any. (“Your mouth is NOT on fire, Anne. Now stop talking and eat!”)

Flour power, bro.

Flour power, bro.

The nice thing about this project is that I learned some important facts about making chicken from gigantic, whole chunks. My mom ended up showing me her trick to detaching the drumsticks (break them), and rolling them in the flour ended up a huge mess because I forgot about that thing flour does if you flop something in it (POOF) and I ended up feeling more like the Swedish chef than Julia Child afterwards.

At this point you should try and think about what you want to serve with the dinner, I went with mashed potatoes and veggies, because I like veggies. On an interesting note, it’s kind of hard to work with three functional burners. Why only three? One of them possessed by spirits, that’s why. It has this nasty tendency to turn itself on at weird times and no matter what the dial says on the oven, the burner is going to switch to the temperature of Mordor in the middle of summer. Maria says it’s just a bad connection somewhere, but I know better… does anyone know if they do exorcisms on stoves?

Wait. Where was I? Oh, yes. The chicken.

At this point, it should look something like this.

Nothing's on fire, so far...

Nothing’s on fire, so far…

If your chicken looks like this, great! You’re doing well! Now, just remember that chicken needs to cook to an internal temp of at 165 degrees Fahrenheit before it’s safe (80 degrees for those folks using Celsius) and you can eat it. This is what thermometers were made for.  Chef Tip: Avoid letting the chicken reach 165 degrees CELSIUS because the chicken will certainly scorch, but that’s the least of your worries depending on what type of oil you used.

Yum!

Yum!

In all, the food turned out rather well. The effort that went into this homework was well worth it. Learning to cook is a very valuable skill in life! We can even get some fun jokes and stories out of it. Heck, just yesterday my Culinary teacher said we should try making Lobster Thermidor next!

At least, I think she was joking.

Leave a Reply

