Fun with Applications or ‘What to do when your transcript doesn’t get in on time’

Howdy, folks! With school starting up again soon (What the heck happened to summer break? Do kids even have summer break anymore?) my family and I have been very, very busy trying to prepare for college. Or at least, we were.

For the back story, I went to an online highschool because I have autoimmune issues and kept getting really, really sick at normal schools. Online school was great, but it wasn’t easy. There’s a stereotype of homeschoolers that lists them as socially awkward and untrained in the real world. I’ve been called tons of names before by some people. Things like “Square.” and “Weirdo” and “Person who can read.” I got stuck with some pretty rough classes too.

I did my six years there and graduated, all went well. Then, because I hadn’t decided up to that point what I wanted to do as an adult, I chose a college and tried to apply. My mother helped me out and we got everything done in a few weeks. My counselor was supposed to send my transcript in in around April.

I received a letter in the mail three days ago that stated that, while my application had gone through fine, they still didn’t have my transcript. This happened on the fourteenth. I emailed my counselor and she hadn’t sent it out  yet, but would do so soon.

The application deadline for this semester is the 16th.

 

Needless to say, things have gone to heck in a handbasket. I do have some job interviews lined up so I’ll at least be able to do something for the next few months. On the bright side, this gives me time to work on my other skills and saving up money for my own place, I also have more time to work on this blog. So, win-win?

Leave a Reply

