NaNoWriMO

While it may be almost a month since my last posting, I’ve been working every day not only on my career but also on something else. Some of you may not be familiar with NaNoWriMo, or National November Writing Month. The goal of NaNoWriMo is to write a novel (of aout 50,000 words) within a month.

I took part in this last year, but didn’t win. School got in the way. There aren’t any awards or prizes of any sort, but it does give you boasting rights and a very satisfied feeling. It’s also a chance to connect with freelancers from all over the world and hear other people’s stories. It’s a very exciting event and I’m going to encourage all of you guys to join in.

So, what will I be writing? Minimal pre-planning is allowed, but I’ve had an idea floating around my head for the longest time, and will be working with that toward my story. It’s going to be a post-apocalyptic adventure-comedy. Weird, yes, but since the idea won’t leave my alone I figure writing it all down will keep it from haunting me.

For the writers in our world, this is an awesome challenge. For the readers and book-lovers out there, you can help and join in by reading and critiquing the work of the wanna-be writers.

Wish me luck with this!

Leave a Reply

