“Trolls” review

I had the fun honor of seeing the movie ‘Trolls’ with my sisters on Sunday when we were having a girls’ day out.

Let me first say this: if you have some sort of seizure disorder, don’t see this movie. This movie is so colorful and bright that it’s almost as if a clown barfed into a box of crayons. The textures and character design are almost cloyingly cute and fun, even the Bergens.

The songs in the movie were top-notch and the way they tied into the film itself was hilarious (with one Troll literally just sitting back with a confused expression and watching everyone else singing and dancing randomly). At one point, there’s a so-called ‘Wham’ line that explains why one character does not sing or dance.

The Bergens are hilarious, while children might be more inclined to love and dote on the colorful Trolls, adults will find the Bergens hilarious and relatable. At one point in the story there’s a message of ‘Be yourself’ with a very Cinderella-esque sub-plot between two of the characters.

When I saw the movie, to be honest, I loved it. The main message of the movie is ‘Try to stay positive and accept your true colors’, basically meaning ‘Be yourself!’. I think the world needs a happy, funny movie to pick itself up with. I’m really, honestly tired of going to movies and having opinions, politics, and motives shoved down my throat. This movie did none of that. It made me and my sisters laugh. There was some humor that went way over the kids’ heads (“What’s sarcasm?” one characters asks. Another says “I think I had one once!”).  The movie hits the golden spot of being appealing to both children and adults alike.

In a time in the world where a lot of people are in a very dark place, I think everyone needs a little happy right now.

So I personally give this movie a rating of 7 stars out of ten. It wasn’t too deep or gritty, but the emotional character arcs and hidden aspects of characters (turns out, one of them is very romantic) that neither me or my sisters were expecting added a lot to the film and how it came across to us and the rest of the audience. It’s a movie I wouldn’t mind seeing again.

 

 

trolls

Leave a Reply

